Event Calendar

In celebration of our 6th anniversary, we proudly introduce

Sutton Foster Ovation Awards

The MSU Federal Credit Union Institute for Arts & Creativity at Wharton Center is pleased to announce that high schools in the state of Michigan are invited to participate in the 6th Annual Sutton Foster Ovation Awards, the Michigan Chapter of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, a national celebration of outstanding achievement in musical theatre performance by high school students and their educators.

To be considered for the program, schools must nominate their fall and/or spring qualifying musical theatre productions for “Best Musical.” There is a $250 fee per nomination. Fall productions must be nominated no later than November 1, 2016. Application Deadline extended to March 1, 2017.

Wharton Center will send a team of expert adjudicators to attend a live performance of the submitted musical and will nominate individuals for “Best Actor,” “Best Actress,” and technical achievement awards, including the Greg Reuter Award for Excellence in Musical Theatre Education (honoring a high school theatre educator whose teaching is based on exemplary ideals).

Theatre professionals, industry experts and educators serve as adjudicators, traveling all over Central Michigan to watch and review participating productions. Each school will receive a professional assessment of their show, made by the adjudicators and meant to support the teacher, the department, and the students in growing their production values and recognizing excellence. At the end of the school year, adjudicators’ reviews and tabulations determine awards in technical categories and nominate lead actors/actresses to participate in the “Best Actor/Actress” competition on stage at Wharton Center on May 20-21, 2017.

For more information, email [email protected] or call (517) 884-3141.

To nominate your production (Fall or Spring) for “Best Musical”, please complete the fillable online application, or print the application, complete, and return via scan.

The Sutton Foster Ovation Awards are presented by Wharton Center for Performing Arts in partnership with Broadway Grand Rapids and Broadway in Detroit, with additional support from Nancy Passanante.

For more information on The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also known as The Jimmy Awards, visit NHSMTA.org.

Sponsored by Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs and the National Endowment for the Arts.

  • Wharton Center for Performing Arts
  • Michigan State University
  • 750 E. Shaw LN
  • East Lansing, MI
  • PHONE: (517) 432-2000