[Skip to Content]

Act One School Series

The Act One School Series provides curriculum-linked, performing arts enrichment activities for students in grades K-12.

Shows produced by nationally touring youth theatre companies bring characters from history and literature to life in one-hour school-day matinees. Selected shows provide a perfect opportunity to introduce students to cultural music, dance and theatre artists from around the world.

Takin’ It To The Streets!

Featuring Soul Street Dance

  • Thursday, October 25 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • Grades K ‒ 6

Mexico Beyond Mariachi

  • Thursday, November 8 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • Grades K ‒ 6

Rosie Revere, Engineer, Iggy Peck, Architect and Ada Twist, Scientist

Presented by Theatreworks USA

  • Friday, December 7 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • Grades K ‒ 4

The Magic School Bus: Lost in the Solar System

Presented by Theatreworks USA

  • Friday, January 25 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • SFP Performance: Thursday, January 24 at 9:45am
  • Grades K ‒ 4

MytholoJazz

Performed by Storyteller David Gonzalez

  • Friday, February 8 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • Grades 5 ‒ 8

I and You

A play by Lauren Gunderson
Directed by Bert Goldstein
A Wharton Center Theatre Production

  • Wednesday, March 20, Thursday, March 21, and Friday, March 22 at 9:45am
  • Grades 8 ‒ 12

SHH! We Have A Plan

A Play featuring the Cahoots NI Theatre
Company of Belfast, Ireland

  • Wednesday, April 24 at 9:45am & 12:30pm
  • SFP Performance: Thursday, April 25 at 9:45am
  • Grades K ‒ 3

Generously sponsored by Jackson National Life Insurance Company, Mercantile Bank, Michigan State Medical Society, and Wharton Center Inner Circle; with additional support from Arts Midwest Touring Fund, a program of Arts Midwest that is funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, with additional contributions from Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs and the Crane Group.

Institute-wordmark.jpg